A Middle School Kid’s Nightmare

Yesterday I found myself standing in front of a room full of teenagers. Although this is a typical activity for me, yesterday was different. After learning different ways to describe different parts of the body, the kids had the task, or opportunity (depending on how you look at it) to describe yours truly. I instantly became self-conscience wondering what problems they would point out. I imaged that at best they would say “you’re very sweaty” and I didn’t dare to imagine the worst.

But they were great! They told me I was beautiful, I have great teeth, a pretty smile, shiny blond hair, I am not ugly, I have a lot of ears (they intended to say I have a lot of earrings, but earrings is a tough word), I have cute freeekls (freckles), I was wearing a brown skirt and a blue shirt, I have a tattoo with stars and ‘l’amour est’, and I am white (in fact they said you are very blanche madame). The best part is that I think they enjoyed this little Kate-is-awesome-fest as much as I did! Any day when I am feeling a little under the weather, I think I might just do this exercise!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda Hansen
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 17:18:37

    kate is great! :o)

    Reply

  2. Ellen Keralla
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 14:30:17

    Hey Katie,
    You are wise to realize that you view the world thru American eyes. You say that you are happy there but are your students happy there? I would like to know how they feel about their life.
    I have run into the ‘all Americans are rich’ line of thought too. Amazingly it was in France. Wonder about that…….
    Have a great break with your parents!
    Ellen

    Reply

  3. senyoralaura
    Dec 24, 2010 @ 21:45:10

    you is byuuteeful madamme.

    Reply

Leave a comment